New Admiral for the Luxemburg Maritime Cluster

Luxembourg, April 7h, 2017

After nine years as head of the Maritime Cluster, Mr. Freddy Bracke handed over the reins to Mr. Fabrice Maire who has become the new Chairman of the association for the next three years. Mr. Maire is one of the sixteen founding members of the Cluster and has a twenty-year- long and wide experience of maritime affairs. Since April 2006, he has been Managing Director of Intershipping S.A. (Socatra Group).

This change took place during the General Assembly of the Luxembourg Maritime Cluster (CML) which was held last Wednesday. The sixty member companies have appointed on this occasion a new Board of Directors of fifteen persons who will provide guidance and support the new Chairman and Cluster Manager Paul Marceul in their duties. Not only familiar faces will sit in the Board because six new Directors have been appointed, reflecting the constant evolution and increase of the membership of the Cluster since its creation in 2008.

Whilst taking stock of his term in office, the outgoing Chairman and founder, Mr. Freddy Bracke, emphasized the dynamism and attractiveness of the Maritime Cluster. He cited the association's major achievements in recent years, namely the outreach work (numerous conferences), the establishment of an effective networking platform, the gains in credibility and image through European activities (European Network of Maritime Clusters, ENMC) and the participation in international fairs, the strengthening of local expertise, thanks in particular to training activities, and the steady growth of members. His successor inherits a solid Cluster, well established in Luxembourg and abroad and now anchored to the Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce, the last major achievement of his mandate.

The new elected Chairman Mr. Fabrice Maire declared on the occasion of his investiture "We are not going to radically shift the helm. Nevertheless, many new subjects and concerns are surfacing with which we have to deal with the concerned persons as soon as possible. The new board will meet on 15th May to establish its work program and launch a major strategic review. The competitiveness of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg and the evolution of international trade are likely to be among the subjects covered.

The new Board of Directors is composed of:

Fabrice Maire (Intershipping S.A.), Chairman

Michel Cigrang* (CLdN), Vice-President

David Lutty (Jan De Nul), Vice-President

Charles Gosselin, Treasurer

Freddy Bracke

Isabelle Charlier* (Wildgen)

Gilles Coeymans (BIL)

Massimiliano della Zonca* (d’Amico)

Mathieu Kissin* (EuroFlag)

Nils Pawlak* (MSC Luxembourg)

Henri Prijot (Deloitte)

Dirk Raeymaeckers (DEME)

Patrick Steenacker (BIM)

Louis Thomas* (KPMG)

Marc Wagener (Chambre de Commerce)

*New Directors

Loader Traitement en cours...